Exhibiting The 2nd Artifact

My intentions for displaying the 2nd artifact is for the sketches to be viewed by themselves. I decided to not show an object next to the sketches as I wanted the sketches to be seen as a work themselves. I am often aware that sketches are perceived to be lesser than other works and often are worth less than in a monetary value in comparison to made objects or paintings. With hindsight, I now feel that I should have displayed my bowl outcome or another of the ceramic pieces in front of the sketches so that the viewer would be able to make the connection between the 2D, complicated and faceted drawings and the 3D object that the sketches are observing. I feel that the work without the 3D object is an interesting trio of sketches and can be appreciated for their detail but the lack of the object makes them just interesting. If I had included the objects then the viewer would have understood the textural relationship between the two.

I hung the sketches up by fishing wire and re-painted the wall white in my efforts to display my work in the context of where it would be seen. My work is made with the intentions of exhibiting it in a gallery/exhibition space, it is intended to be viewed as and next to art. My efforts of displaying professionally have been successful up to a point. The clean white wall and the transparent thread has been effective in showing professionalism but the way that the paper hangs, showing shadow behind the sketches distracts my eyes away from the work itself. Also using coloured clips to hold the paper is also distracting, but they do hint to my use of colour and the personality and style that is incorporated in my way of working. With hindsight I would have considered my methods of displaying further, next time I intend to dedicate an allotted amount of time to consider display and what materials and equipment I will use.

Below is an image of my installed work exhibited in the studio space, my work consists of a trio of observational textural drawings hung on the wall. The plaster sculpture next to my sketches is my peer Amy Evans’ work.

20181212_095053-1.jpg

Author: Menna-Clare Samuel

BA Artist Designer:Maker @ Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a comment